Skip to main content
Concept

Why this matters:A short explanation you can quote back when a child, teacher or relative asks why this rule exists at all.

Device
iOS / iPhone, Android
Age band
— not specified —
Jurisdiction
global
Software version
— not specified —
Last checked
2026-08-20

A parent who is shopping for a parental-control product reaches the “free versus paid” question early. The free tier is the product’s own claim. The paid tier is the same claim with a price.

This page is not a price comparison. Prices change fast and the vendor pages are the only source for them. This page is about what the price buys, and what is already free on the device the child already has.

Definition

The free option in a parental-control decision is the set of controls that ship with the operating system, or that ship with a non-profit programme that is recognised under a state youth-protection law.

The paid option is a third-party subscription product from a commercial vendor.

The two options overlap. The right question is not “should I pay” or “should I get the free version”. The right question is: what does the paid product do that the free option does not, and is the difference worth the price.

Scope

This page covers the documented behaviour of the free operating-system controls, the free non-profit programmes, and the documented free-versus-paid boundary in commercial products.

It does not name a “best” product. It does not compare prices. It does not recommend a specific combination.

It does cover the four things parents most often ask the question about: web filtering, screen time, location, and message monitoring.

The free baseline

Apple Screen Time

Apple Screen Time is built into iOS and iPadOS. It is free with the device. It supports app limits, downtime, content restrictions, and Family Sharing.

Independent 2025 testing found that time-limit restrictions in normal mode worked “recht gut” (fairly well). The same test found that the Accessibility “unterstützender Zugriff” mode bypassed several restrictions in ways a child could replicate [source: www-warentest-ios-bypass-2025].

Independent 2026 testing found that the iOS web filter covers only Safari and apps that use the iOS WebKit surface. Chrome, Firefox, and in-app web views are not covered [source: wirecutter-parental-controls].

The Communication Safety feature is on-device nudity detection. The parent does not receive an alert [source: wirecutter-parental-controls].

The 2020 Stiftung Warentest comparison rated Apple’s iOS tools 2.9 overall (“befriedigend”, satisfactory), with a 5.4 (“mangelhaft”, poor) on pedagogical support and a privacy statement the testers rated “lückenhaft” (patchy) [source: test-de-ios-detail].

Google Family Link is built into Android. It is free. It supports screen time, app approval, location, and Play Store restrictions.

The 2020 Stiftung Warentest comparison rated Google Family Link “befriedigend” (satisfactory) [source: www-familienhandbuch-warentest-summary].

On iOS, Google Family Link is limited to a companion-viewer role. It does not provide the same feature set as on Android [claim: bark-app-page].

Non-profit alternatives

The non-profit JusProg is a Jugendschutzprogramm recognised under §11 of the German Jugendmedienschutz-Staatsvertrag (JMStV). It is free for end users and member-funded. It scored “gut” in Stiftung Warentest’s 2020 comparison [source: www-jusprog-hintergrund] [source: www-jusprog-faq].

JusProg’s privacy statement was rated “lückenhaft” (patchy) by the testers — the same caveat that applies to the OS tools [source: www-familienhandbuch-warentest-summary].

For many parents, the question is not “which paid product is best” but whether the OS tool or this free alternative is enough for this age.

What the operating-system tools do not do

The OS tools are the free baseline. They do specific things.

They do not do message-content scanning. The OS-level filter covers URL filtering, not chat content. iOS Communication Safety is on-device, not a parent notification [source: wirecutter-parental-controls].

They do not do geofencing on iOS in the same way Android does. Apple’s Find My is a device finder, not a parental-control component.

They do not do motivated-child bypass detection. The 2025 test found the Accessibility bypass exists; the OS does not flag it to the parent [source: www-warentest-ios-bypass-2025].

What the paid product buys

The paid product, in the categories where the test catalog has findings, buys four things the free option does not.

1. A documented URL filter, independently tested

AV-TEST’s annual certification program tests URL filtering against a curated corpus. As of August 2026, only Kaspersky Safe Kids holds a current APPROVED certificate, on Windows 11 (93 % Windows / 86 % Android in 2026), continuously since 2017 [source: www-avtest-2023-pdf] [source: www-avtest-kaspersky-2026-pdf].

Norton Family held APPROVED through 2018. No current certificate exists for Norton Family [source: www-avtest-2017-16apps] [source: www-avtest-2018-multi].

The OS tools do not have an AV-TEST APPROVED certificate. The JusProg non-profit programme does not have one either.

A parent who has a specific web-filtering need that the OS tool does not meet may pay for the documented alternative. A parent who does not have that need may not.

2. A cross-platform schedule

The OS tools are platform-specific. A paid product that supports both iOS and Android with a unified schedule is paying for the integration [source: bark-app-page].

The integration is not free of platform limits. Bark openly describes its iOS limitation: on iOS, the product requires a periodic USB-tethered “Bark Sync”, not real-time monitoring, because Apple blocks background content access [claim: bark-app-page].

A paid product with a paid “cross-platform” feature has a feature set that varies by platform. The vendor should publish the difference. The parent should check it.

3. A panic button or family alert

Some paid products advertise a panic button or an alert surface [claim: bark-pricing-support].

The OS tools do not include a panic button. The reliability of the feature depends on the child remembering it exists and being able to reach it under stress. No independent test of panic button reliability has been published [source: www-avtest-2018-multi].

A parent who has decided a panic button is a worthwhile feature is paying for the feature. The decision is not a verdict on the feature.

4. A privacy-statement signal

Some paid products publish a more complete privacy statement than the OS tools. The 2020 Stiftung Warentest test included a basic data protection axis, and rated Apple’s privacy statement “lückenhaft” (patchy) [source: test-de-ios-detail].

Some paid products share the same caveat. The improvement, where it exists, is not categorical.

A parent who has read the OS privacy statement and found it incomplete has not automatically found a paid product with a complete one. The reading is the same kind of work either way.

What the paid product does not buy

The paid product does not buy a circumvent-defeat feature. The 2020 Stiftung Warentest test and the AV-TEST certification series both test the product as installed by a parent. They do not test a motivated-child scenario [source: test-warentest-2020] [source: www-avtest-2017-16apps].

The paid product does not buy a privacy guarantee. The 2020 Stiftung Warentest test rated Wondershare FamiSafe worst in the comparison and the testers compared it to spyware for the depth of its chat, photo, and location access [source: www-familienhandbuch-warentest-summary].

The paid product does not buy continuity. ESET Parental Control for Android reached End-of-Sale on 30 June 2025 and is scheduled for End-of-Life on 30 June 2026. A parent who paid for ESET Parental Control in 2024 has paid for a product that is no longer sold [source: supporteol-eset-eol-policy] [source: www-eset-eol-de].

The paid product does not buy a finding in the AV-TEST cerficiation. The AV-TEST series has found only Kaspersky Safe Kids holding a current APPROVED certificate, and only Norton Family in the past. Other products are not on the list [source: www-avtest-2018-multi].

What changes when the price is the limit

The cheapest product is not the test-winner. The most expensive product is not the most-evidenced product. The ranking that exists in the independent literature is short.

Across the German and English-language coverage, only two institutions regularly publish comparative tests of parental-control apps with a stated methodology and a named scale: Stiftung Warentest in Germany and AV-TEST, a technical lab also based in Germany [source: test-warentest-2020] [source: www-avtest-2017-16apps].

K-Tipp in Switzerland has tested adjacent hardware but not parental-control apps [source: www-ktipp-tests-overview].

The two literatures do not always meet. The AV-TEST URL filter literature covers one product family. The Stiftung Warentest 2020 comparison is now five years old. For most products, no current independent test exists.

A parent who pays for a product does not buy a test. The parent buys a feature set, and the literature, where it exists.

What the buying decision really is

The buying decision is not “free or paid”. The buying decision is the answer to a question:

Which documented function does the family need, on the device the child has, that the free OS tool does not provide, and is the paid product’s evidence on that function sufficient?

The U.S. Federal Trade Commission treats parental controls as one layer of protection, not a complete solution [source: consumer-ftc-parental-controls].

That framing is the same whether the product is free or paid.

Sources

This page draws on independent test reports, regulator publications, vendor disclosures, and platform documentation. Vendor descriptions of their own features are noted as [claim].

Independent tests and secondary coverage:

  • test-warentest-2020 — Stiftung Warentest, “Kinderschutz-Apps im Test: Nur zwei Apps helfen Eltern gut” (2020-08-24, recapped in 2026; full test paywalled).
  • test-de-ios-detail — Stiftung Warentest detail page for Apple iOS in the 2020 comparison.
  • www-familienhandbuch-warentest-summary — Independent secondary summary of the 2020 test, with the “spyware” comparison for FamiSafe and the “befriedigend” rating for Google Family Link.
  • klicksafe-warentest-summary — Klicksafe (EU Safer Internet DE) coverage of the 2020 test, with the parental-tool-use statistic.
  • www-avtest-2017-16apps — AV-TEST, “16 Parental Control Apps for Android & Apple iOS” (2017-08-27), the multi-vendor comparison that established the APPROVED certificate.
  • www-avtest-2018-multi — AV-TEST, “Test: Parental Control Apps for Google Android, Apple iOS & Amazon Fire OS” (2018-12-15). Only Kaspersky Safe Kids and Norton Family passed full APPROVED at that time.
  • www-avtest-2023-pdf — AV-TEST Parental Test 2023 PDF for Kaspersky Safe Kids Premium.
  • www-avtest-kaspersky-2026-pdf — AV-TEST Parental Test 2026 PDF for Kaspersky Safe Kids, the most recent APPROVED certificate.
  • www-ktipp-tests-overview — K-Tipp product-test index, used to confirm that no parental-control app test has been published.
  • www-warentest-ios-bypass-2025 — Secondary reporting on the Stiftung Warentest / SWR 2025 bypass test of Apple Screen Time.

Platform and structural sources:

  • [source: apple-screen-time] — Apple Support, “Use Screen Time to manage your child’s iPhone or iPad”, the primary source for Apple OS-level controls.
  • [source: wirecutter-parental-controls] — Wirecutter / NYT 2026 review of iOS parental controls, the source for the Safari-only-web-filter, single-Downtime-schedule, and Communication-Safety findings.
  • [source: ourpact-appleinsider-2019] — AppleInsider, “Apple returns parental control app OurPact to App Store” (2019-07-11).
  • [source: ourpact-techcrunch-2019] — TechCrunch, confirmation of the structural iOS API limitation behind the 2019 purge and restoration.

Non-profit free option:

  • [source: www-jusprog-hintergrund] — JusProg e.V., “Hintergrund”, the §11 JMStV state-recognised status of the non-profit Jugendschutzprogramm.
  • [source: www-jusprog-faq] — JusProg e.V., FAQ, confirming the free / member-funded model.

End-of-life and policy:

  • [source: supporteol-eset-eol-policy] — ESET End-of-Life policy page, with the 30 June 2026 date for Parental Control for Android.
  • [source: www-eset-eol-de] — ESET DE-language announcement of the discontinuation.

Regulators and framework bodies:

  • [source: consumer-ftc-parental-controls] — U.S. Federal Trade Commission, parental-controls consumer guidance, the one-layer-of-protection framing.

Vendor disclosures cited as structural evidence for the platform limits:

  • [claim: bark-app-page] — Bark product page describing the iOS “Bark Sync” charger-based scan and the Android feature set.
  • [claim: bark-pricing-support] — Bark pricing/support page describing subscription tiers.
  • [claim: famisafe-pricing] — Wondershare FamiSafe pricing page describing the “30+ app” monitoring claim.

The following sources were reviewed during the research and are deliberately not cited on this page, because they publish star ratings or “best of” rankings without a published methodology: review listicles on Safewise, TechRadar, PCMag, Airdroid, SafetyMode, TechSafeForKids, HyperJar, Kidgy-forum, Phone-Safety. They are documented in the underlying research note RAW/research/f-third-party-tests.md and excluded here by editorial policy.

[source: test-warentest-2020] [source: test-de-ios-detail] [source: www-familienhandbuch-warentest-summary] [source: www-avtest-2017-16apps] [source: www-avtest-2018-multi] [source: www-avtest-2023-pdf] [source: www-avtest-kaspersky-2026-pdf] [source: www-jusprog-hintergrund] [source: www-jusprog-faq] [source: apple-screen-time] [source: klicksafe-warentest-summary] [source: supporteol-eset-eol-policy] [source: www-eset-eol-de] [source: ourpact-appleinsider-2019] [source: ourpact-techcrunch-2019] [source: www-warentest-ios-bypass-2025] [source: wirecutter-parental-controls] [source: consumer-ftc-parental-controls]

Why trust this page?

Belief-disclosure in plain language. Everything the page claims is sourced; instructions are tested against the software version stated above; nothing is bought or affiliate-linked.

Standing of evidence
Primary (first-hand or regulatory source)
Tested against
— not specified —
Last verified
2026-08-20

Sources used on this page, in the order they appear:

Statements quoted from a manufacturer that are still checked against independent sources are marked [claim]. They describe what the vendor says, not what is independently verified.

Next useful step

  1. Content
  2. Contact
  3. Conduct