Skip to main content
Concept

Why this matters:A short explanation you can quote back when a child, teacher or relative asks why this rule exists at all.

Device
— not specified —
Age band
Ages 0–5, Ages 6–9, Ages 10–12, Ages 13–15, Ages 16+
Jurisdiction
global
Software version
— not specified —
Last checked
2026-08-19

Parents read six to nine different guidelines at once. WHO, AAP, RCPCH, BZgA-backed German S2k, Swiss federal, Australian 24-hour movement, UK 2026 under-5 — each gives a different number for the same age.

This wiki does not pick a winner. The wiki’s job is to make the disagreements legible, so that a parent reading the BZgA number and the AAP number at the same time knows they are not looking at the same question.

Two kinds of disagreement show up. The first is threshold — what number, at what age. The second is method — what kind of evidence can support a number at all.

Definition

A “guideline” here means a published recommendation from a body that parents are likely to encounter: a national paediatric society, a national health authority, or an international organisation that national bodies cite.

This article compares nine guideline products from eight bodies:

  • WHO Guidelines on physical activity, sedentary behaviour and sleep for children under 5 (2019), and the 5–17 follow-up (2020).
  • AAP American Academy of Pediatrics policy statement and technical report on Digital Ecosystems, Children, and Adolescents (2026), and the parent-facing 5 Cs framing.
  • RCPCH Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health guidance page (current status: first issued 2019, archived; no resource formally endorsed).
  • DE AWMF/DGKJ S2k consensus guideline on prevention of dysregulated screen media use (version 1.3, valid through 2028).
  • CH jugendundmedien.ch and BAG federal guidance; PAPRICA Bewegungsförderung manual; pädiatrie schweiz narrative paper.
  • AT Austrian federal health portal orientations; ÖGKJ press statements.
  • AU Department of Health 24-hour movement recommendations (2026 update).
  • UK DfE under-5 advice (2026); 5–16 call for evidence closed in June 2026, final guidance announced for autumn 2026.
  • EU BIK+ European strategy for a Better Internet for Kids.

The published thresholds at a glance

The wiki’s sources page lists each guideline with its URL and retrieval date.

The numbers below appear in the cited guidelines. The wiki does not average them. Each entry is the body’s own published value.

  • WHO, under 5. No sedentary screen time for under-1s and 1-year-olds. At most 1 hour per day at ages 2, 3 and 4; “less is better” for ages 2–4 [source: who-under5-2019].
  • AAP, 0–18. Screen hours are not the sole organising principle. AAP’s 2026 framework uses Child, Content, Calm, Crowding out, and Communication; the 2016 policy statement is the historical reference. AAP’s parent page explicitly describes its current approach as “moving beyond the 2-hour rule” [source: publications-aap-digital-ecosystems-2026].
  • RCPCH. The 2019 guidance rejected fixed time limits and asked four behaviour-anchored questions instead. RCPCH’s current page says no resource is formally endorsed [source: www-rcpch-screen-resources-2026].
  • DE AWMF/DGKJ S2k. No active or passive screen media under 3. Approximately 30 minutes on individual days at 3–6; 30–45 minutes at 6–9; 45–60 minutes daily at 9–12; 1–2 hours at 12–16; about 2 hours at 16–18. No free internet under 9; own games console not before 9; own smartphone no earlier than 9, preferably 12 [source: register-awmf-dgkj-2023].
  • CH jugendundmedien.ch and PAPRICA. Under 2: no screen exposure; ages 2–4: at most 1 hour per day, accompanied. Ages 5–8: orientation of 30–60 minutes per day; ages 9–10: at most about 1.5 hours per day. No formal numeric S2k/S3-style paediatric guideline exists in Switzerland [source: jugendundmedien-ch-jugend-medien-6-10] [source: register-awmf-leitlinie].
  • AT federal health portal. Ages 3–6: at most 30 minutes on individual days. Ages 6–9: 30–45 minutes on individual days. The ÖGKJ publishes orientations, not a graded guideline [source: www-at-health-children-screen].
  • AU, under 5. No screen time under 2; at most 1 hour per day at 2–5. Ages 5–17: at most 2 hours of sedentary recreational screen time per day, excluding school work [source: www-au-under5-2026] [source: www-au-5-17-2026].
  • UK under 5 (DfE, 2026). Under 2: avoid screen time except shared interactive activities encouraging bonding and conversation. Ages 2–5: aim for no more than 1 hour per day; keep screens from meals and the hour before bed [source: educationhub-uk-parent-advice-under5-2026].
  • UK 5–16. The DfE published a call for evidence in June 2026. The 5–16 advisory group is led by the Children’s Commissioner and Prof Russell Viner.

The final document was announced for autumn 2026. It is not published at the time this article was verified [source: www-uk-eystag-report-2026] [source: consult-uk-call-5-16-2026].

Scope

Where the guidelines agree

Five points are convergent across most of the bodies cited above. The convergence is documented; the wiki does not claim it proves each individual threshold.

1. Lower exposure is better for younger children.

WHO, AAP, RCPCH, the German S2k, the Swiss federal guidance, the Austrian federal portal, the Australian 24-hour movement, and the UK DfE under-5 advice all restrict screen exposure more stringently for younger children than for older ones [source: who-under5-2019] [source: publications-aap-digital-ecosystems-2026] [source: register-awmf-dgkj-2023] [source: www-au-under5-2026] [source: educationhub-uk-parent-advice-under5-2026].

The same bodies also agree that the restriction loosens as the child gets older.

2. Sleep, meals and physical activity should not be displaced.

WHO’s 5–17 sedentary-behaviour guideline and the AAP 2026 technical report both treat “displacement” of sleep, exercise and direct interaction as the central protective mechanism [source: who-5-17-2020] [source: publications-aap-digital-ecosystems-2026].

3. Co-use and conversation matter for younger children.

AAP’s 2016 Media and Young Minds policy, the German S2k, the Swiss federal 6–10 milestone page, and the Austrian federal family guide describe parental accompaniment and discussion as the protective behaviour for under-10s [source: publications-aap-digital-ecosystems-2026] [source: register-awmf-dgkj-2023] [source: jugendundmedien-ch-jugend-medien-6-10].

4. Media literacy is part of prevention.

EU BIK+, the Swiss BAG, the APA health advisory on social media in adolescence, and the meta-analytic evidence on media-literacy interventions all describe literacy as a protective mechanism.

It is not a philosophical alternative to controls. It is something parents and schools can do in addition [source: digitalstrategy-eu-bikplus] [source: www-ch-bag-media-2022] [source: www-apa-advisory-2023] [source: pmc-jeong-media-literacy-2012] [source: academic-carpenter-media-literacy-2025].

5. Restriction is a trade-off, not a single lever.

The EU Kids Online 2012 analysis, the Livingstone eight-country 2017 study, and the Tan 2025 three-level meta-analysis all describe restrictive mediation as reducing risk and reducing opportunity at the same time.

The bodies that cite this evidence use it to soften numeric recommendations, not replace them [source: researchonline-eukids-2020] [source: openaccess-livingstone-enabling-2017] [source: doi-tan-digital-parenting-2025].

Where the guidelines disagree

Three disagreements are large enough that a parent reading two guidelines will see two different recommendations. The wiki names them.

A. The under-2 / under-3 boundary.

WHO and Australia use age 2 as the no-screen threshold. The German S2k uses age 3. The UK DfE 2026 allows shared interactive activities under 2, framed as “avoid screen time except” rather than “no screen time”.

AAP’s 2016 Media and Young Minds used “discourage use of screen media other than video-chatting” under 18 months, which is a third threshold at 18 months.

A parent cannot apply all three simultaneously. Each guideline is internally consistent; the disagreement is between bodies [source: who-under5-2019] [source: register-awmf-dgkj-2023] [source: educationhub-uk-parent-advice-under5-2026] [source: www-au-under5-2026].

B. The existence of a universal numeric threshold.

WHO and AAP both decline to set a universal numeric threshold for older children. The German S2k publishes one.

RCPCH’s 2019 guidance rejected numeric thresholds entirely.

Australia’s 2-hour recreational threshold is the cleanest numeric rule in the set.

AAP’s 2026 parent-facing page explicitly describes its current approach as “moving beyond the 2-hour rule” [source: publications-aap-digital-ecosystems-2026].

The disagreement is methodological.

AAP and RCPCH argue that no experiment shows a specific minute threshold to be causal.

The German S2k and Australia argue that waiting for such an experiment is impractical. Population guidance must translate the existing evidence into a usable number [source: register-awmf-dgkj-2023] [source: www-au-5-17-2026] [source: www-rcpch-screen-resources-2026].

C. The role of the platform in protection.

EU BIK+ puts equal weight on protection, empowerment and participation. AAP’s 2026 report places content and platform design as central.

The German S2k is family-facing. It says nothing about platform obligations.

The Swiss BAG treats media competence as the central lever.

A parent reading all four will see four different allocations of responsibility: child, parent, school, platform [source: digitalstrategy-eu-bikplus] [source: publications-aap-digital-ecosystems-2026] [source: register-awmf-dgkj-2023] [source: www-ch-bag-online-behavior].

What the disagreements do not mean

The disagreements do not mean one body is correct and the others are wrong.

The German S2k is a national consensus guideline, methodologically explicit about being S2k-grade (consensus-based, not S3-grade evidence-based) [source: register-awmf-leitlinie].

The AAP 2026 technical report acknowledges that “much of the literature” is correlational, and treats its recommendations as synthesised judgement, not as causal proof [source: publications-aap-digital-ecosystems-2026].

The WHO 5–17 guideline is explicit that the recreational-screen recommendation is a “limit” without an hour cap [source: who-5-17-2020].

Reading any one of them as a definitive number is a misreading.

How a parent should read the disagreements

The disagreements are useful information, not noise. Three rules of thumb follow from the structure of the disagreement itself.

1. Apply the rule of the country you live in.

Digital age limits, age-rating enforcement, and the legal framework around reporting differ per jurisdiction. The wiki’s accounts-age-limits-and-birthdays article covers the mechanics.

2. Read the most recent version of the body’s own guidance.

WHO and AAP update on multi-year cycles; RCPCH’s position has shifted from 2019 to 2026; the UK DfE has separate documents for under-5 and 5–16. The version year matters [source: www-uk-eystag-report-2026].

3. Where two guidelines disagree for the same age, the wiki treats the disagreement as the answer.

The wiki does not resolve “1 hour” (WHO/AU) against “30 minutes” (DE/AWMF) for ages 3–5 into a single number. The wiki publishes both, names the bodies, and lets the family apply the one they are willing to follow [source: who-under5-2019] [source: register-awmf-dgkj-2023].

What this article does not do

It does not recommend an age for a first phone, a first social media account, or a first game console. Those are individual family decisions, not guideline products.

It does not adjudicate the methodological disagreement between AAP and the German S2k. Each is internally consistent and externally criticised. The wiki names the disagreement and leaves it.

It does not extend the under-5 rules to older children. The UK DfE is developing a separate 5–16 document for autumn 2026. The wiki will add a section when the document is published [source: www-uk-eystag-report-2026] [source: consult-uk-call-5-16-2026].

Sources

Each marker resolves to a stub under Wiki/sources/ with the URL, the retrieval date and the licence.

  • who-under5-2019 — WHO, “Guidelines on physical activity, sedentary behaviour and sleep for children under 5 years of age” (2019) [source: who-under5-2019].
  • who-5-17-2020 — WHO, “WHO guidelines on physical activity and sedentary behaviour” (2020) [source: who-5-17-2020].
  • publications-aap-digital-ecosystems-2026 — AAP, “Digital Ecosystems, Children, and Adolescents: Technical Report” (2026) [source: publications-aap-digital-ecosystems-2026].
  • www-rcpch-screen-resources-2026 — RCPCH, “Screen time and online harms: resources for members” (2026) [source: www-rcpch-screen-resources-2026].
  • register-awmf-dgkj-2023 — AWMF, “S2k-Leitlinie Prävention dysregulierten Bildschirmmediengebrauchs” (2023) [source: register-awmf-dgkj-2023].
  • ch-jugend-medien-6-10 — jugendundmedien.ch, “Kinder von 6 bis 10 Jahren” [source: jugendundmedien-ch-jugend-medien-6-10].
  • at-health-children-screen — Austrian federal health portal, “Kinder und Bewegung” [source: www-at-health-children-screen].
  • au-under5-2026 — Australian Department of Health, “Recommendations for infants, toddlers and preschoolers” (2026) [source: www-au-under5-2026].
  • au-5-17-2026 — Australian Department of Health, “Recommendations for children and young people 5 to 17 years” (2026) [source: www-au-5-17-2026].
  • uk-parent-advice-under5-2026 — DfE Education Hub, “New advice for parents on screen time for young children” (2026) [source: educationhub-uk-parent-advice-under5-2026].
  • www-uk-eystag-report-2026 — UK Government, “Screen use by children aged under 5” (EYSTAG, 2026) [source: www-uk-eystag-report-2026].
  • www-apa-advisory-2023 — APA, “Health advisory on social media use in adolescence” (2023) [source: www-apa-advisory-2023].
  • doi-tan-digital-parenting-2025 — Tan and colleagues, “Meta-analysis of associations between digital parenting and children’s digital wellbeing” (2025) [source: doi-tan-digital-parenting-2025].
  • eu-kids-online-mediation-2012 — EU Kids Online, “How can parents support children’s internet safety?” (2012) [source: researchonline-eukids-2020].
  • openaccess-livingstone-enabling-2017 — Livingstone and colleagues, “Maximizing Opportunities and Minimizing Risks for Children Online” (2017) [source: openaccess-livingstone-enabling-2017].
  • jeong-media-literacy-2012 — Jeong and colleagues, “Media Literacy Interventions: A Meta-Analytic Review” (2012) [source: pmc-jeong-media-literacy-2012].
  • academic-carpenter-media-literacy-2025 — Carpenter and colleagues, “Media literacy interventions: meta-analytic review of 40 years of research” (2025) [source: academic-carpenter-media-literacy-2025].
  • ch-bag-media-2022 — Swiss Federal Office of Public Health, “Medienkonsum von Kindern und Jugendlichen” [source: www-ch-bag-media-2022].
  • ch-bag-online-behavior — Swiss Federal Office of Public Health, “Suchtartiges Onlineverhalten” [source: www-ch-bag-online-behavior].
  • digitalstrategy-eu-bikplus — European Commission, “European strategy for a Better Internet for Kids, BIK+” [source: digitalstrategy-eu-bikplus].
  • pmc-influencer-review-2019 — De Veirman and colleagues, “What is influencer marketing and how does it target children?” (2019) [source: pmc-influencer-review-2019].
  • register-awmf-leitlinie — AWMF classification documentation (S2k as consensus-based guideline) [source: register-awmf-leitlinie].
  • consult-uk-call-5-16-2026 — UK DfE, “Screen use by children aged 5 to 16: call for evidence” (2026). The DfE process that preceded the autumn 2026 5–16 guidance announcement [source: consult-uk-call-5-16-2026].
Why trust this page?

Belief-disclosure in plain language. Everything the page claims is sourced; instructions are tested against the software version stated above; nothing is bought or affiliate-linked.

Standing of evidence
Secondary (re-statement, review or institutional secondary)
Tested against
— not specified —
Last verified
2026-08-19

Sources used on this page, in the order they appear:

Statements quoted from a manufacturer that are still checked against independent sources are marked [claim]. They describe what the vendor says, not what is independently verified.

Next useful step

  1. Ages 0–5
  2. Ages 6–9
  3. Ages 10–12